Chicago Marathon Expo

October 9, 2009 at 7:23 pm 1 comment

IMG_1106
I love running Expos!

Ok, so really I love any place that has booths and swag. Today was fun because the boyfriend and I got there super early so it wasn’t too crowded. He did a photo essay of me running around being overly excited. The photo above I think is the best…I was very perky picking up my race bib and such…it just feels so surreal this is actually happening.

I met some amazing people, and saw and old friend from Northwestern! I have to give a shout out to Geneva Hampton, Executive Director of the Little Rock Marathon. She was there all dressed up (photo below) and after graciously taking a photo with me she answered a lot of my questions. Her advice was some of the best I’ve gotten so far and it calmed me down a lot to hear “just have fun, enjoy each place, focus on the amazing experience…you only have one first marathon.” Also she stressed the idea of getting your pace down and not worrying about making up time.
IMG_1111
I got a lot of fun stuff at the expo including a free water bottle from Luna, a cute shirt from Lulumon Athletica, a sport shell jacket that I am going to wear to keep away the wind in the morning, some new socks (not for the race, just in general I’m always losing socks) and lots of magazines and fun coupons. Below is some of my amazing swag.
IMG_0300
I did talk to the ladies at the Princess Half-Marathon booth and got a tiara which I then put on Princess Fiona the Maltipoo. I don’t think she was too pleased.
IMG_1119
The marathon shirt is so cute and I’m super excited to wear it in New York at my next NYRR race. Wow, I’m finally going to be a member of the marathon club! Now just to hydrate and feed myself enough so, come Sunday morning I feel like a rock star. The good news is that it looks like the weather forecast (after looking more dire every hour) is now looking better.

Weather now is: 51/40 degrees and partly cloudy…getting better!

Entry filed under: Running. Tags: , , , , .

Chicago :) A Long Time Coming

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Seb  |  October 9, 2009 at 9:20 pm

    That 1st pic of you is great Tiffy, I can tell you were going bonkers!!!

    Good luck with the run!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tiffy’s Twitter

  • If you want to lose weight you gotta try this Try it free for the rest of October. pinterest.com/pin/3560665327… 3 years ago
  • Twitter friends I now at Tweeting at @YourWineography , follow to learn a bit more about wine and food! Still running though :) 6 years ago
  • Hmmm....when does my wedding "diet" begin... hopefully this time when I train for the marathon I can manage not to eat my face off 7 years ago
  • So far 2010 is pretty awesome. Not only am I running 2010 NYC Marathon but I'M ENGAGED!!!!!! 7 years ago
  • Hey twitterland! I'm back to running (after a bit of an extended break!) RunTiffyRun is back, now in training for More Half-Marathon! 7 years ago
October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

