Norway Run

October 3, 2009 at 3:35 pm 2 comments

IMG_0297

I am so happy that I ran this race today. When I saw there was going to be a Norwegian Festival with a 1.7 miler, 13.1 miler, kids races as well as Norwegian food and music I couldn’t pass it up! My grandfather was from Norway and when I was a little girl I learned a lot about my heritage. I went to Norwegian camp in Michigan and even had my own 30 min show at the Oslo stage of the Norsk Hostfest in Minot, North Dakota singing both in Norwegian and English.

The last ten years I haven’t really thought much about my heritage but it is something that I am very proud of. I wanted to first run the Grete’s Great Gallop but was told by my running buddy (and mentor) David “you can NOT can NOT run a half-marathon the weekend before your marathon.”

Good advice David. So the Norway run it was, 1.7 miles. It sounded, after all of this running, like a cakewalk but I decided to do 4 beforehand and then push hard on the race. It turned out really well and I broke the 10 mile/m pace for the first time EVER in a recorded race. I ran it at 9:23! It was a super short one but it is part of a bigger goal for me to pick up my pace and do The Race to Deliver 4m under 10 mile/m once I’m recovered from Chicago.

After the race I stuck around for a while and enjoyed the beautiful day in the park. I’ve never gone to the festivals after the races but this time I couldn’t pass it up. Since I’m “carbo loading” this week I was more than happy to enjoy the waffles as well as the bagels with Norwegian smoked salmon and imported cream cheese. It was a whole breakfast! I went to the Lillehammer Lodge booth for the Sons of Norway after and I took some quizzes on Norwegian history and culture. This does sound super dorky but I had a really good time.

Right before I left I got to listen to some traditional Norwegian music and then I took a long beautiful walk through Central Park. The Grete’s Great Gallop was going on and I cheered on some runners before coming home.

I’m a bit sore from this past week. I need to make sure I’m running on fresh legs so I’m taking it very easy the rest of the weekend and taking a yoga class at Crunch tomorrow. So great to be back running NYRR Races! This fall should be a great one for running once I take a few weeks off after the marathon.

Distance: 1.7 Miles, 2.7 Kilometers
Date/Time: Oct. 3, 2009, 8:15 a.m.
Location: Central Park, NYC
Weather: 67 degrees, 93% humidity, overcast.

IMG_0295 IMG_0296

Entry filed under: Running. Tags: , , .

Jackrabbit Love Chicago :)

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sasha  |  October 5, 2009 at 12:40 am

    OMG TIff I forgot about you and Norweigian camp. I just LOL’d reading about that. Love you!!!

    Reply
  • 2. Theodora  |  October 9, 2009 at 3:50 pm

    you=all kinds of awesome. good luck this weekend lady!!!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tiffy’s Twitter

  • If you want to lose weight you gotta try this Try it free for the rest of October. pinterest.com/pin/3560665327… 3 years ago
  • Twitter friends I now at Tweeting at @YourWineography , follow to learn a bit more about wine and food! Still running though :) 6 years ago
  • Hmmm....when does my wedding "diet" begin... hopefully this time when I train for the marathon I can manage not to eat my face off 7 years ago
  • So far 2010 is pretty awesome. Not only am I running 2010 NYC Marathon but I'M ENGAGED!!!!!! 7 years ago
  • Hey twitterland! I'm back to running (after a bit of an extended break!) RunTiffyRun is back, now in training for More Half-Marathon! 7 years ago
October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

