Help Greg Fight Cancer 5K

August 26, 2009 at 3:11 am Leave a comment

IMG_0243

After this race I have to give major love to Brooklyn. So many people in Prospect Park came out and cheered us on even though it was about 7:15 by the time we started running. I’m still re-adjusting to the New York heat and it was about 80 degrees when we started but in the end I got a Personal Best on my 5K. Mind you I’ve only done two 5K’s but this was the fastest I’ve ever run in a scored race.

It was a bit of a loopy route which was actually really fun. We ran through parts of the park I had never seen and I have to say every time I run in Prospect Park it makes me love it more and more.

This race was special because it was for a cause which actually struck close to home. I have had friends my age who have gotten cancer and an old friend from college recently pass away. Greg was there looking great and had a big smile on his face. He is a very handsome guy who I hope can use this money and kick this cancer’s butt so he can do that Ultramarathon he was training for before his cancer diagnosis.

The mood was amazing…so many running groups came out to support this cause and you could tell that people were really excited to help out this brave guy.

My thoughts and prayers are with Greg and his family!

**Wish I had a better picture but I think this one is pretty cool.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Busy Summer… Sweet 16

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tiffy’s Twitter

  • If you want to lose weight you gotta try this Try it free for the rest of October. pinterest.com/pin/3560665327… 3 years ago
  • Twitter friends I now at Tweeting at @YourWineography , follow to learn a bit more about wine and food! Still running though :) 6 years ago
  • Hmmm....when does my wedding "diet" begin... hopefully this time when I train for the marathon I can manage not to eat my face off 7 years ago
  • So far 2010 is pretty awesome. Not only am I running 2010 NYC Marathon but I'M ENGAGED!!!!!! 7 years ago
  • Hey twitterland! I'm back to running (after a bit of an extended break!) RunTiffyRun is back, now in training for More Half-Marathon! 7 years ago
August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

