Running in the Rain? You ‘Betcha!

August 17, 2009 at 1:25 am 1 comment

IMG_0547

I had to make some sort of veiled Sarah Palin reference…in no way am I supporting the above bumper sticker…however, I found it really amusing.

I had two more great runs in Sitka to round out my trip. The fishing was amazing but the weather was a bit crazy and rough seas meant that I got a serious workout on the boat attempting to keep myself and my father (who is a bit older…and very tall) upright on the rough seas as he pulled in his fish.

Sitka_19
Even though my parents thought I was a little crazy I went for a 6 mile and 2 mile run. The first run I decided to run over the Sitka bridge which was really tough but very fun to tackle. After the bridge I headed up to the airport and then doubled back my route to our hotel. Towards the last half of my run there was some light rain but after some hot summer runs it feels great running in the rain.

My second run was quick and easy just to keep my legs warm. I decided against doing my long run here because there are only 17 miles of roads here and bears have been spotted all over. It wouldn’t be the safest thing to me. It was a bit of a bummer but I am going to shift things around and have a nice long run early Tuesday morning in Minot, North Dakota. I already know after my first run how to extend my mileage but will be a bummer that the heat means I have to be up and running around 6am.

This second run, however was done in POURING RAIN. I was going to wait and see if I could do it later in the day but I knew that I would be wanting to hang out with my parents so I thought well, gotta do it!

So got a lot of running in. Not long runs but kept myself going and limber!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

The Great State of Alaska Busy Summer…

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Inesita  |  August 18, 2009 at 1:27 pm

    I love running in the rain…much nicer than in the dry sun :).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tiffy’s Twitter

  • If you want to lose weight you gotta try this Try it free for the rest of October. pinterest.com/pin/3560665327… 3 years ago
  • Twitter friends I now at Tweeting at @YourWineography , follow to learn a bit more about wine and food! Still running though :) 6 years ago
  • Hmmm....when does my wedding "diet" begin... hopefully this time when I train for the marathon I can manage not to eat my face off 7 years ago
  • So far 2010 is pretty awesome. Not only am I running 2010 NYC Marathon but I'M ENGAGED!!!!!! 7 years ago
  • Hey twitterland! I'm back to running (after a bit of an extended break!) RunTiffyRun is back, now in training for More Half-Marathon! 7 years ago
August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

