Running Fuel

August 10, 2009 at 3:35 pm Leave a comment

zico-coconut-water-1

Training the summer is just brutal. New York this summer has been a steamy sweat box and it has been rough making sure that I’m hydrated pre and post run. Yesterday I was talking with some friends at a baby shower and discussing how hard it is for me to find supplements that help me stay energized and hydrated because I really hate anything that tastes like chemicals.

I am not a crazy organic person mind you but I do like food and I enjoy clean eating when I can. Clean eating for me, does include cookie cake and BBQ every now and then because nobody is perfect but what it doesn’t include are those weird bars and GU that everyone raves about.

GU in my personal option dates like I’m drinking motor oil. Sport Beans are my only friend in the training department. I also feel really weird about sports drinks as well that are essentially sugar water.

To the rescue is Coconut Water. This is the only drink that has hydration benefits that I really find refreshing after a long workout. It has a lot of potassium which is great for rehabbing my muscles and it only has 60 calories in the plan flavor. My Bikram yoga teacher buddy, Lauren drank it while she was practicing twice a day in the California desert during her teacher training and after taking a class with her a realized how good it is after a sweaty workout.

My favorite is ZICO: Pure Coconut Water. It has a really clean refreshing flavor and I enjoy the Mango and Passion Fruit Flavors as well.

So at least I have something that I can really know makes me feel great after a workout. Still working on the stuff to eat during the marathon. My suggestions yesterday included dried fruit which is a favorite of mine.

Long training run this week was not fun. I had overindulged in the food/alcohol department and have quickly realized that other than the weddings I need to stop drinking for the rest of my training. I have no tolerance after training the last few months.

Off to North Dakota!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

ING New York Marathon Long Training Run #2 Why not Minot?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tiffy’s Twitter

  • If you want to lose weight you gotta try this Try it free for the rest of October. pinterest.com/pin/3560665327… 4 years ago
  • Twitter friends I now at Tweeting at @YourWineography , follow to learn a bit more about wine and food! Still running though :) 6 years ago
  • Hmmm....when does my wedding "diet" begin... hopefully this time when I train for the marathon I can manage not to eat my face off 7 years ago
  • So far 2010 is pretty awesome. Not only am I running 2010 NYC Marathon but I'M ENGAGED!!!!!! 7 years ago
  • Hey twitterland! I'm back to running (after a bit of an extended break!) RunTiffyRun is back, now in training for More Half-Marathon! 7 years ago
August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

