Help Greg Fight Cancer 5K

July 31, 2009 at 6:29 pm Leave a comment

Every New York Road Runner race usually has a charity partner. Though I always pay attention to what we are running for I’ve never really run a race just because I feel motivated to raise money for a specific cause. I will, sadly, admit that I was very focused on making sure that I made my 9 runs for the 9+1 program that automatically gives me a spot in the 2010 New York Marathon.

Today I got an email in my inbox about a member of the Jackrabbit New York staff who is currently fighting cancer. His name is Greg Hamilton and he was diagnosed while training for an Ultramarathon. Jackrabbit is putting on a 5K in Prospect Park Tuesday, August 25th at 7pm to raise money for his treatment.

Prospect Park
Bartel Prichard lot near movie theatre.
Fees

$20 – ALL proceeds go to help Greg with his fight against cancer.

Brief Description

Greg Hamilton was diagnosed with testicular cancer in June of 2009. The cancer has spread, so he is currently undergoing four months of chemotherapy, and if that is not successful he intends to undergo major surgery to remove the cancer from every part of his body.

Additional Information

Before the diagnosis he was training to run his first Ultramarathon, a 50 miler. Now, between the disease and the chemo, he struggles to climb the stairs to his apartment. His dream of joining the FDNY has been put on hold while he focuses all of his energy on getting better.

Greg is 22 years old, and has worked at JackRabbit since he arrived in NYC almost two years ago. As an assistant manager first in the Union Sq store and now in the Brooklyn store, Greg has helped thousands of people start running, get faster, and reach their goals. This is our opportunity to give back for all the support he’s given us over the years.

There are all kinds of costs when fighting cancer, and only a few of them are covered by medical insurance. Greg’s parents live in Washington State, so travel and lodging are big expenses. Greg’s cell phone bill has doubled. Transportation to and from treatment, plus dozens of co-pays, adds expenses. Greg needs extra medical supplies while he is recovering from chemo, and all of his food needs to be delivered. While he is working at the Brooklyn JackRabbit occasionally, his income is nowhere near what it was and will not be at least until chemo is complete in October. If he has to undergo surgery, that’s another 3-6 months of recovery from the surgery where Greg’s expenses will be high but his income will be low.

Please join us in running the Help Greg Fight Cancer 5k on Tuesday Aug 25th, and help Greg focus on fighting the disease and not on worrying about his expenses.

Training for a marathon right now is great but I do miss short runs and races. I haven’t done a 5K in forever and for $20 if I can help somebody out it seems like a great idea. I’m excited because it is right after I get back from my North Dakota/Alaska/Chicago Wedding jaunt and it will be a great way to kick off my last stretch of Marathon training.

Also, that week I will not only be marathon training but also working out like a madwoman so I look good in this bridesmaids dress for my best friend’s September 5th wedding!!!!

If you are in the New York area and want to run a 5K for a great cause click HERE to register! Hope to see you there!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

My Back ING New York Marathon Long Training Run #2

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tiffy’s Twitter

  • If you want to lose weight you gotta try this Try it free for the rest of October. pinterest.com/pin/3560665327… 3 years ago
  • Twitter friends I now at Tweeting at @YourWineography , follow to learn a bit more about wine and food! Still running though :) 5 years ago
  • Hmmm....when does my wedding "diet" begin... hopefully this time when I train for the marathon I can manage not to eat my face off 7 years ago
  • So far 2010 is pretty awesome. Not only am I running 2010 NYC Marathon but I'M ENGAGED!!!!!! 7 years ago
  • Hey twitterland! I'm back to running (after a bit of an extended break!) RunTiffyRun is back, now in training for More Half-Marathon! 7 years ago
July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

