My Back

July 27, 2009 at 10:23 pm 1 comment

LowerBackPain

I have had some serious issues with my back lately. I have been told via my friends from Twitter that this is most-likely due to my lack of stretching.

I am bad at stretching which is strange because back in the day I used to go to the gym at college and do literally 15 mins on the treadmill then just go stretch. I was lazy and now I have the opposite problem. After my long runs all I want to do is lie on my back and watch bad TV or start my summer weekend off with a cold beer.

I understand that I need to take some time, perhaps outside and stretch in the grass because when I get home and lay on my yoga mat my dog takes it as “yea! mommy is going to play fetch with me!!!!!” So I have a dog on my head as I try to stretch out my back which doesn’t lead to productive stretching.

Since today I literally couldn’t move I finally got up off my butt and went to my favorite nail place, Apple Nails on the Upper West Side and got a 20 min massage (well, and a manicure). It was amazing. My headache went away and my back feels so much better!

So the end result is that part of my routine is going to be a chair massage after my long runs. It costs me $20 which is a really small price to pay for my back not feeling like I’m 85 years old.

I also am going to try to keep my shoulders back a bit more when I’m doing my runs. I thought I had my form down but like anything I think you have to keep watching out that you don’t fall into bad habits.

So I have two more weeks here in Manhattan before I head to North Dakota, Alaska then Chicago. This summer is a bit crazy but I keep picturing the finish line.

75 days!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

12 Miles Help Greg Fight Cancer 5K

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Noritas  |  August 3, 2009 at 1:40 am

    hope your feeling better1

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tiffy’s Twitter

  • If you want to lose weight you gotta try this Try it free for the rest of October. pinterest.com/pin/3560665327… 3 years ago
  • Twitter friends I now at Tweeting at @YourWineography , follow to learn a bit more about wine and food! Still running though :) 6 years ago
  • Hmmm....when does my wedding "diet" begin... hopefully this time when I train for the marathon I can manage not to eat my face off 7 years ago
  • So far 2010 is pretty awesome. Not only am I running 2010 NYC Marathon but I'M ENGAGED!!!!!! 7 years ago
  • Hey twitterland! I'm back to running (after a bit of an extended break!) RunTiffyRun is back, now in training for More Half-Marathon! 7 years ago
July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

