12 Miles

July 26, 2009 at 10:35 pm Leave a comment

Wow. I have to admit that my training over my Croatia/London vacation wasn’t the best and today I am paying the price.

Little did I know that today was the Nautica New York Triathilon so I am very glad that I decided to do my run on Saturday morning. I first wanted to do it Saturday because I had this strange idea that after running 12 miles I was going to want to go out and party. That did not happen.

Waking up at 6am to run on my own is something I’m not very good at doing. I’m semi-employed right now however, so I really shouldn’t have a hard time not sleeping in on a weekend. Hitting the West Side Highway I felt really rusty the first mile or so. Thankfully it wasn’t very hot and after a while I started to get into a groove.

I thankfully made a new running mix which sort of changed up my routine. Mile 3-7 I have to say was awesome, I felt in the zone and hit what I really think was my first sold “runners high.” It was awesome. I also decided to run the piers to add some mileage so once I hit the tip of Manhattan I was almost to 9 miles.

3 miles left and I made a poor choice. I have never tried Shot Blocks and so I thought I would try them on this run. One should never try something new on a long run. All of a sudden my stomach was hit with nutty cramps and I still had 3 miles to go.

In pain, I was determined to run 3 more miles and so I ran really fast… faster than I should have but soon looking down at my iPhone I was at 12 miles. Thank the lord. Lesson learned that my sport beans really are the way to go for me.

After the run I did stretch (though perhaps not as much as I should have) and then laid out on my friend Matt and David’s roof. David is my running buddy and he gave me the evil eye a few times for drinking beer instead of water but I did get in some Gatorade after my run. I came home, had some more water and Gatorade and then went back to their apartment for a birthday dinner with lots of good food.

So today I feel accomplished but sore. My back has been a disaster lately so I need to figure out tonight if some yoga can help it or if I need to pay more attention to my running form. Going to run 4 miles tomorrow as well as work out with my trainer. Marathon training is in full swing!

Yikes!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Got Some New Shoes On My Back

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tiffy’s Twitter

  • If you want to lose weight you gotta try this Try it free for the rest of October. pinterest.com/pin/3560665327… 4 years ago
  • Twitter friends I now at Tweeting at @YourWineography , follow to learn a bit more about wine and food! Still running though :) 6 years ago
  • Hmmm....when does my wedding "diet" begin... hopefully this time when I train for the marathon I can manage not to eat my face off 7 years ago
  • So far 2010 is pretty awesome. Not only am I running 2010 NYC Marathon but I'M ENGAGED!!!!!! 7 years ago
  • Hey twitterland! I'm back to running (after a bit of an extended break!) RunTiffyRun is back, now in training for More Half-Marathon! 7 years ago
July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

