FRNY Lesbian and Gay Pride Run

June 29, 2009 at 2:54 am 3 comments

IMG_0296

So happy I ran this race! After a my “swine flu” and faced with a 11:30 train to go to a graduation party I pulled it together and ran my best race in a long time. Didn’t get a PB but ran a solid 11:31 mile which is the best I’ve done ever on a 5 miler!

Also the most exciting part about this race was the I QUALIFIED FOR NEW YORK 2010! As part of the 9+1 program I have run 9 races since January 2009 and also did my volunteer service. Even though I just started less than a month ago to train for Chicago I can’t wait in November 2010 to finally get the chance to run the iconic New York Marathon. So…guess my new running habit will be sticking with me for a while.

The boyfriend is in town for the next week but due to the crazy thunderstorms (which hit right as I was picking up my race number at NYRR) he didn’t get in until about 1am so my sleep wasn’t really what I was hoping for.

Did get up early, had some Gatorade coffee and a few Sport Beans. I wanted to make sure, even though it was not super hot, that I was much better hydrated than my last race the Mini 10K.

This was the first race that I wore my t-shirt because I really wanted to support all of the Gay, Lesbian and Transgender Runners. I did some work on it (cut it up a bunch to make it more runner and Tiffany friendly) and I also wore my new shorts.

Because I am training for my marathon I had to do 7 miles this weekend so I did 2 before the race started and felt pretty strong. The race was a bit of a different course which was nice. I did the hills on the west side for the first time with fresh legs which felt good. After looping down to the south end of the park it was getting a bit hot in the sun but I was pumping Thriller on my iPod and just in such a good mood I hardly noticed Cat Hill.

I will admit that I did get some strange side stiches while running. I did calm myself down, energized my core and somehow was able to breathe through them. Finishing the race I sprinted past my two running buddies David and Tara on one side cheering for me (which you can see in the photo below) and the boyfriend on the other side (who brought the puppy as well).

IMG_0295

It was amazing to finish strong and feel great! Front Runners put on an amazing race and I actually ate the finishing snack of popsicles!!!!!! Nothing like a sweet cold popsicle after a warm race…. best idea ever!

IMG_0297

Ran quickly back to my apartment with the boy and the dog to catch a train to Long Island. After running around I got to eat my face off and drink margaritas on the beach. Pretty solid weekend!

Distance: 5.0 Miles, 8.0 Kilometers
Date/Time: June 27, 2009, 9:00 am
Location: Central Park, NYC
Weather: 69 deg., 84% hum.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Back on Track! A Hard Weekend

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Clive  |  June 29, 2009 at 11:09 am

    Yayyyyyyyyy! I miss you dearly!!!!!

    Reply
  • 2. polynesian69  |  June 30, 2009 at 7:16 am

    Congrats to you. Allies are important and what makes it all worthwile. I found myself in the middle of a pride run on Saturday, just out as a part of my regular training. I’m a hardcore addicted trail runner and am focusing on the 10k distance, and like you am a wordpress blogger. Keep it up! Good work tiff!!!

    Reply
  • 3. Sandi Rowe  |  June 24, 2010 at 3:09 pm

    Hi Tiffy,

    My name is Sandi Rowe and am the Women’s VP for Front Runners New York. A fellow Front Runner forwarded your blog to me today. I wanted to say Thank You for the kind words and for sharing the experience you had with our Pride Run last year. I hope we will see you on the course again this year… we’ll have the popsicles ready!

    Best & Happy Pride,
    Sandi

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tiffy’s Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

