Chicago

June 18, 2009 at 2:33 am Leave a comment

IMG_0290

Once again I went back to Chicago ladies and gents. This time I was there not only to see my boyfriend but also my best friend who is performing in “Fiddler on the Roof.”

The fact that both of them are currently not in New York makes me sad but seeing them both together just made me one happy girl. The weekend involved a lot of food and a bit of booze but thankfully also I got some running in as well.

The boy and I hit the gym the first full day I was there and I had to deal with the dreaded treadmill. It was raining cats and dogs and I hadn’t brought anything that was really right to run outside in. The treadmill, beckoned however, partially due to my previous days pizza indulgence.

I did some sprints, partially to make sure that I got my run done as quickly as possible. Though it most likely wasn’t the best treadmill run I at least stayed on a solid 45 min then threw in some stretching for good measure. Thankfully we got a run in because that night we did some bbqing on the roof and met the best friend for some late night desert and beer after her show.

The next day, Sunday, thankfully was beautiful and the boy and I hit the trail. It was a nice warm day and we ran down to the lake. The run up to the observatory was beautiful and we even managed to have a bit of a conversation in the mix. We have come a long way running together since our first attempt where I tripped on his heels trying to catch up to him. We are getting to that point where we can be that hard core couple who go running every morning together 🙂

Monday was my best friend’s birthday. The celebration included a brunch…an amazing, fattening, fabulous brunch. I tried and failed to eat light and that evening for her birthday we hit up Joe’s Crab for a serious meal.

So a couple of runs and some amazing times with my favorite people later it was a great trip!

Two weeks into my marathon training I’m feeling nervous about all of this running while traveling but on the other hand tonight when I went for a run instead of “So You Think You Can Dance” I was proud that I have come to the point where running is going to take over my free time…the little that I have… and I’m happy with that.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

New York Mini 10K Training So Far

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tiffy’s Twitter

  • If you want to lose weight you gotta try this Try it free for the rest of October. pinterest.com/pin/3560665327… 4 years ago
  • Twitter friends I now at Tweeting at @YourWineography , follow to learn a bit more about wine and food! Still running though :) 6 years ago
  • Hmmm....when does my wedding "diet" begin... hopefully this time when I train for the marathon I can manage not to eat my face off 7 years ago
  • So far 2010 is pretty awesome. Not only am I running 2010 NYC Marathon but I'M ENGAGED!!!!!! 7 years ago
  • Hey twitterland! I'm back to running (after a bit of an extended break!) RunTiffyRun is back, now in training for More Half-Marathon! 7 years ago
June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

