New York Mini 10K

June 7, 2009 at 10:02 pm Leave a comment

IMG_0153

Today I got up and felt pretty strong but once I got down to 61st Street and Central Park West with my fellow women runners I started to feel a little wary about the heat and humidity, even though it was about 70 for some odd reason it felt really warm to me. I was, however, so excited to get to run down Central Park West with some seriously elite women runners.

Starting out down Central Park West I was clipping along at about a 10min mile which is fast for me. Running a nice flat road felt great and I was zooming when we went into the park at 90th Street. Thankfully we had a nice downhill before we did Harlem Hill but the other way around.

At this point my body was not happy and I was realizing that I was fading fast. Right after the downhill of Harlem hill I started to slow down a bit. I saw a lot of walkers, which made me feel better about taking a few moments and getting some water. I have to say, my booty was being kicked.

The amazing thing about this race was that we had a lot of cheerleaders. I was so motivated the last mile by some amazing spectators and volunteers. Even though there were some moments that I wanted to take a long nap in the grass instead of run I finished my first 10K safe and sound!

I want to give two thumbs up to NYRR! This is an amazing race we even got a medal! There was always enough water and like always this was wonderfully organized! I have one more race before I automatically qualify for the 2010 New York Marathon which is really exciting.

What is frightening is that I’m not full-on in Marathon training so I need to make sure that I watch my hydration and get my warm weather fitness up.

All in all a great race!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Summer is Here…Welcome to My Travel Blog! Chicago

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tiffy’s Twitter

  • If you want to lose weight you gotta try this Try it free for the rest of October. pinterest.com/pin/3560665327… 3 years ago
  • Twitter friends I now at Tweeting at @YourWineography , follow to learn a bit more about wine and food! Still running though :) 6 years ago
  • Hmmm....when does my wedding "diet" begin... hopefully this time when I train for the marathon I can manage not to eat my face off 7 years ago
  • So far 2010 is pretty awesome. Not only am I running 2010 NYC Marathon but I'M ENGAGED!!!!!! 7 years ago
  • Hey twitterland! I'm back to running (after a bit of an extended break!) RunTiffyRun is back, now in training for More Half-Marathon! 7 years ago
June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

