Chicago Running!

May 19, 2009 at 10:39 pm Leave a comment

IMG_0196

I just got back from the most amazing weekend in Chicago! I have to say, I would live in Chicago if the weather were in the 60s/70s all year long. Sadly, that is not the case and I was just thrilled to see sun!

Reason for all of my trips to Chicago is the boyfriend and his business school had a Miami Vice themed party on a boat that I couldn’t pass up. These fun parties are a bit rough on the running the next day so I knew a Thursday party would mean a Sat or Sunday run.

Saturday was a bit of a bust because the Art Institute had opened up its new Modern Art Wing and I also wanted to enjoy a relaxing day with the boyfriend. Even with all my training I’m afraid when we really tries to “run” with me he is going to kick my booty unless we run over 8 miles… I brought my new Livestrong running shorts which I really have to say are just amazing to run in.

Sunday morning I hit the trail! On my way down to the Lakefront I realized that there had been a Half-Marathon that morning. I was a bit bummed that I hadn’t realized I would be in Chicago during a half…I think I may have ran it. There also was something called the Walk and Roll which was some kind of biking walking even that seemed very confusing… I kept passing both runners and walkers and I couldn’t figure out who was doing what… Someone at one point handed me water, which I was hesitant to take but they insisted and had a huge table of it so I grabbed some and headed south.

Running by the Aquarium and the Planetarium was AMAZING. I felt so hard-core running by the water with the waves and the seagulls. Once again, really wanted to move to a place with a beach. Run was slow but got in a solid 6.5 miles and felt amazing after. I can’t believe my training is going to be all over the map this summer. So far here is what my travel plans are (and where I’ll be running)

Chicago: June 12-16
Croatia: July 9-17
London: July 18-19
North Dakota: Aug 8-10
Alaska: Aug 11-17
North Dakota: Aug 18-20
Chicago: Aug 21-24
(then a mélange of US Open, best friend’s wedding (Sept 5th!) and mommy visit)
Nantucket: Sept 25-27
Marathon: October 11th

So excited to run Chicago in October. I’m looking for training tips now!!! This week I’m going to start keeping a journal here on the site of my weekly runs, travel and progress!!! Enjoy.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

R Baby Mother’s Day 4m Memorial Day, Multiple Blessings and Reality

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tiffy’s Twitter

  • If you want to lose weight you gotta try this Try it free for the rest of October. pinterest.com/pin/3560665327… 3 years ago
  • Twitter friends I now at Tweeting at @YourWineography , follow to learn a bit more about wine and food! Still running though :) 6 years ago
  • Hmmm....when does my wedding "diet" begin... hopefully this time when I train for the marathon I can manage not to eat my face off 7 years ago
  • So far 2010 is pretty awesome. Not only am I running 2010 NYC Marathon but I'M ENGAGED!!!!!! 7 years ago
  • Hey twitterland! I'm back to running (after a bit of an extended break!) RunTiffyRun is back, now in training for More Half-Marathon! 7 years ago
May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

