More Half-Marathon

April 26, 2009 at 5:07 pm 4 comments

img_01361

Waking up this morning I knew that this race was going to be a tough one. I always test out the weather and know what to wear during my runs when I walk my dog Fiona. After a cup of coffee and some water since I was feeling a bit wiped out after spending yesterday in the sun (more about that one later) I went outside to discover it was a beautiful and warm morning.

Beautiful and warm translate to “way to hot to be running a race.” Getting to the start I was feeling pretty jazzed up with my new running gear and then I found out the Marathon was cancelled and the Half-Marathon would be a fun run. My heart broke for the women who had trained for the Marathon only to see Mother Nature ruin it. It was in the 70s by the time the race began at 8am. There were 10,000 ladies out and though I know a lot of us were a bit nervous about the weather the energy was amazing.

This run was clockwise which I tried one just once before. It was a nice change and it really made me appreciate how beautiful and amazing Central Park is. The first big hill I powered up and then slowed down a bit on the east side. Thankfully there were some water sprayers and lots of water and Gatorade at the water stations. Thanks so much NYRR for making sure we all had water!

They had said if we couldn’t finish the race in 3 hours to ditch out at 7 miles (the sort-of halfway mark and the eventual finish line). PF Changs I ran in 3 hours so the idea that on this hot day I could run any better than that was daunting. I hit about 6.5 and looked down at my watch and was well on my way to a great pace. Feeling empowered and slightly dizzy I took a moment to walk off the heat and pour some water on my head and I kept on trucking.

The second time around I did a bit more walking. I listened to my body and stopped at every water station making sure that when I could fall into a good pace I did. I did end up running most of it which I was happy about. Looking around me I felt amazing to be in the company of such amazing women. I kept seeing the same ladies over and over, and we all were in it together.

In the end my time was 2:38! I ran 26 min faster than PF Changs. This in itself was super-emotional for me because I am seriously making headway on my goal for Chicago. Thank You for all of the supporters out today, NYRR and the More Organizers. Hot race but it was a great one!

Women Rock!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

More Fitness Expo! MORE Photos

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mark  |  April 26, 2009 at 5:32 pm

    Nice report ! Congratulations on the big improvement. If you stay dedicated, you’ll continue to get better in leaps and bounds. I worked the race as a course marshal. NYRR made a good decision; it was a meaner 80 degrees than yesterday, and no one was acclimated to the heat. I’ve always preferred the counterclockwise run; the hills are longer but gentler.

    Reply
  • 2. Sasha  |  April 26, 2009 at 7:18 pm

    Tiffy you amaze me!!!! CONGRATULATIONS on this amazing accomplishment — you’re my hero for the day! xoxo

    Reply
  • 3. JesseJstreet  |  April 26, 2009 at 9:19 pm

    Congratulations on the great finish! You did great! Chicago had better watch out 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. More Half-Marathon…Here Already? « Run Tiffy Run  |  April 23, 2010 at 7:36 pm

    […] signed up for More a while ago, even though last year it wasn’t my favorite race. I thought it would keep me on track but instead I’ve been a bit sporadic with my training. I […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tiffy’s Twitter

  • If you want to lose weight you gotta try this Try it free for the rest of October. pinterest.com/pin/3560665327… 3 years ago
  • Twitter friends I now at Tweeting at @YourWineography , follow to learn a bit more about wine and food! Still running though :) 6 years ago
  • Hmmm....when does my wedding "diet" begin... hopefully this time when I train for the marathon I can manage not to eat my face off 7 years ago
  • So far 2010 is pretty awesome. Not only am I running 2010 NYC Marathon but I'M ENGAGED!!!!!! 7 years ago
  • Hey twitterland! I'm back to running (after a bit of an extended break!) RunTiffyRun is back, now in training for More Half-Marathon! 7 years ago
April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

