Run as One 4m

April 19, 2009 at 9:26 pm 2 comments

spring

I can’t say that I got a personal best like my last run, the Run for the Parks 4m but I am thrilled no matter what with my time. I ran at a 10:35 which after an 11:45 on my first mile makes me really happy!

This morning, after a bit of a late wake-up I wasn’t able to have my coffee but did manage to get in some water and half a banana. I hadn’t had the chance to get my race number so I needed to get to the bandshell and pick it up by 8:30.

I tried to run to the start which I did last time and my legs were just not being helpful. I am running the MORE Half-Marathon next weekend so Saturday I did my 10 miles and also played some tennis with my friend to celebrate New York’s Spring weather.

I finally got to the bandshell and now will for sure will never pick up my race number late again…it was a zoo but the bright side was that I got to pick up my awesome t-shirt. This race they had these great mesh t-shirts that I raced in because the weather was so nice and warm!

Once I got in my corral I thought I could motivate my little sore legs into running a good race. Turning on my ipod shuffle, however, I momentarily freaked out because I had forgotten to charge it. I would be running this race without music. I hardly can walk my dog without music. I knew, especially on the hills this was going to be hard.

The race started and I was a bit slow but started to get going. I freaked out about the music but then just started enjoying being out on a lovely Sunday morning. It honestly wasn’t the bad, I took in the noise of the run and for the first time got to hear people cheering each other on. I have not been converted into a no-music runner but I know that I can from now on!

After I realized that mile 1 I was running a little slow I got into more of a solid pace and really enjoyed the rest of the race. I sprinted the last few meters to the finish and really felt great to run a nice solid race even through being sore and tired. I love these races…this was the cherry on the sundae of my weekend!

Up next : MORE Half-Marathon! (Goal is to just run it solid!)
Healthy Kidney 10K (my first 10K!)
Mother’s Day Race (With my Mom!)

Distance: 4.0 Miles, 6.4 Kilometers
Date/Time: April 19, 2009, 9:00 am
Location: Central Park, NYC
Weather: 58 degrees, 64% humidity, overcast.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Arizona A Weekend of Fun- I’m a TriAthlete!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Race Report Round Up: Run as One | The NYC Running Blog  |  April 20, 2009 at 11:33 am

    […] Run Tiffy Run […]

    Reply
  • 2. tara  |  April 20, 2009 at 9:40 pm

    my ipod bailed on me too! it froze at mile 2…. man its tough for me without music, but i guess we should learn to try it! congrats on a great race 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tiffy’s Twitter

  • If you want to lose weight you gotta try this Try it free for the rest of October. pinterest.com/pin/3560665327… 3 years ago
  • Twitter friends I now at Tweeting at @YourWineography , follow to learn a bit more about wine and food! Still running though :) 5 years ago
  • Hmmm....when does my wedding "diet" begin... hopefully this time when I train for the marathon I can manage not to eat my face off 7 years ago
  • So far 2010 is pretty awesome. Not only am I running 2010 NYC Marathon but I'M ENGAGED!!!!!! 7 years ago
  • Hey twitterland! I'm back to running (after a bit of an extended break!) RunTiffyRun is back, now in training for More Half-Marathon! 7 years ago
April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

