Being Unemployed is the New Black

March 26, 2009 at 6:26 pm Leave a comment

unemployment

I have a lot of friends in New York that have currently found themselves sans employment. As an actress I have lived in a constant state of being half-employed, unemployed, sort-of employed.

To be honest, I can’t remember the time I really felt like I had a constant job, until now and I fully dislike it. If there was a time for me to have a lot of free-time on my hands it would be now…so I could be able to train a bit more and really rock myself into shape instead I find myself sitting in an office (this job I LOVE) and dreading an upcoming wine tasting for a company that I really am having issues with.

It is hard during this economic time to not take the easy route…to let yourself breathe and really take moments of being in between jobs to really find out what you want to do.

New York has embraced the fact that in a way everyone is a bit of an actor now…not knowing where their next paycheck is coming from, having free afternoons, and being able to party till the sun comes up without fear of being hungover at work.

My awesome friend, who is writing a blog about the chic new face of unemployment is one of these brave young women who is taking this time to have some fun and really find a job that suits her well. Check out her blog Unemployment in the City here.

On my end I am keeping these jobs I have and fitting in my running (like normal people). I’m super impressed for people who train while working really demanding jobs. Mine, to be honest, isn’t demanding per se but still overwhelming to say the least.

I am making it work right now…working for the weekend, working hard for the money, and praying I get an acting gig so I can jump ship from the real world and start the cycle of job hunting again.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Running in CT Run for the Parks 4M

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tiffy’s Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

