Running in CT

March 24, 2009 at 3:55 pm 1 comment

When I first visited my boyfriend’s hometown in Ridgefield, CT he drove me around the horse farms and huge homes casually mentioning “you know when I played football I did this 5 mile run all the time.”

We were driving around his RUN. He was a RUNNER which was hot to my out-of-shape 20 year-old self. “Wow, I could never do that,” I remember myself saying. “Those hills look brutal.”

Fast forward to 2009. My boyfriend and I have dated, not dated, pretty much lived together then now live in different cities. A lot has happened over the last 8 years.

I had a race on Sunday in the city since I am enjoying these NYRR races so much but I couldn’t really go to CT for the first time since Thanksgiving and dine and dash to take the train right after his mom made dinner. I decided to forgo the 15K and do that run I had gawked at 8 years ago.

Ridgefield is just gorgeous. We started off the run with his parents (who were walking my dog). Fiona the maltipoo made a valiant effort to run with us for a little bit but then we took off. I had been told by the boyfriend “wait for this hill, it is a killer.”

I kept waiting and every hill we would run up I would think “whatever, not that bad.” Then we hit the actual hill which was BRUTAL. I have whined about hills before but this was a steep long climb. It was a gorgeous day so I tried to focus on the beautiful homes and horses but when we finished it I felt amazing.

The rest of the run goes flat and then the last mile is totally downhill. 5 miles. A really long hill. I did it and I was able to chat with the boyfriend while doing it.

I don’t know my pace. I think it was most likely about 11…you know what after running those crazy hills I DON’T CARE!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

The Biggest Loser Half-Marathon? Being Unemployed is the New Black

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. JesseJstreet  |  March 24, 2009 at 4:17 pm

    Sounds like a great run! I can’t wait for the scenery around here to go from winter blah to beautiful.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tiffy’s Twitter

  • If you want to lose weight you gotta try this Try it free for the rest of October. pinterest.com/pin/3560665327… 4 years ago
  • Twitter friends I now at Tweeting at @YourWineography , follow to learn a bit more about wine and food! Still running though :) 6 years ago
  • Hmmm....when does my wedding "diet" begin... hopefully this time when I train for the marathon I can manage not to eat my face off 7 years ago
  • So far 2010 is pretty awesome. Not only am I running 2010 NYC Marathon but I'M ENGAGED!!!!!! 7 years ago
  • Hey twitterland! I'm back to running (after a bit of an extended break!) RunTiffyRun is back, now in training for More Half-Marathon! 7 years ago
March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

