NYRR 8000

March 14, 2009 at 3:55 pm 3 comments

At 1am yesterday morning after I had polished off a Wetzel’s Pretzel in Penn Station I started to get nervous for my 6:30 wake-up to run the NYRR 8000. I had been at NJPAC to see my best friend in “Fiddler on the Roof” and had spent a day running around the city with an empty stomach.

For most of my runs I have been very good about getting enough sleep and eating right the night before. Last night was not the case. Setting my alarm for 6:30 I prayed that when I got up I would have the energy to hit the trail.

My friend Clive joined me at 7:45 and he also was not feeling the cold winter morning and the early race time as well. This morning, getting to my apartment he said “seriously, when I got your text at 1am I thought that you weren’t going to make it…if you would have stayed in bed I think I would have too.” But we are good little runners and we pulled ourselves out of bed cold and tired and walked to the start at the 101 St. Transverse.

The first mile was ok as I’m always a fan of the route on the west side. I was pushing so hard to wake up my body and get into a groove and though I felt like I was getting into a good pace I was not at all pushing myself due to a serious lack of sleep. I gave up on getting a personal best this race and just focused on my music and the beautiful sunny morning. Though I know it took some seconds off my time I stopped for some water, slowed down a bit on the hills and ran within myself.

Today the east side hill was brutal. Running up it I looked around at the runners faces with me and realized that I am not alone in my hatred for this part of the run. I need to get over it, however, because in the More 1/2 Marathon I will be doing that hill at least a couple times.

The last mile I was just thrilled to have finished the race and also cursing the fact that I couldn’t really push myself the way I wanted to. All in all I was happy with my run and it was a good kick in the pants that I need to really up my training before my next big race.

Distance: 4.9 Miles, 8.0 Kilometers
Date/Time: March 14, 2009, 8:00 am
Location: Central Park, NYC
Weather: 35deg., 61% hum.,wing sw 5mph

11:06 min/mile… not a PB but for feeling like my shoes were full of lead.. a very happy finish!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

NYRR 8000 To Race or Train in CT?

3 Comments Add your own

  • […] Run Tiffy Run Ads by GoogleHyundai big sale – buy now save big – googlepages.com […]

    Reply
  • 2. Pete  |  March 14, 2009 at 5:22 pm

    I like the PB lead thing. Pb is lead! That was funny.

    Reply
  • 3. Sasha  |  March 21, 2009 at 8:01 am

    Tiff, you’re down to 11 minute miles!!! That is HUGE!!! You are really making progress here, my love. I’m so excited for you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tiffy’s Twitter

  • If you want to lose weight you gotta try this Try it free for the rest of October. pinterest.com/pin/3560665327… 3 years ago
  • Twitter friends I now at Tweeting at @YourWineography , follow to learn a bit more about wine and food! Still running though :) 5 years ago
  • Hmmm....when does my wedding "diet" begin... hopefully this time when I train for the marathon I can manage not to eat my face off 7 years ago
  • So far 2010 is pretty awesome. Not only am I running 2010 NYC Marathon but I'M ENGAGED!!!!!! 7 years ago
  • Hey twitterland! I'm back to running (after a bit of an extended break!) RunTiffyRun is back, now in training for More Half-Marathon! 7 years ago
March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

