Finding Motivation in the Winter

February 5, 2009 at 3:12 pm 2 comments

central_park_winter_new_york_city

I am seriously having some problems getting motivated not only to run this frigid winter weather but really to do anything. Somehow I pulled myself out of bed and went to the gym this morning. I’m working on doing strength training twice a week as I’ve heard it helps to cross-train when you are doing long distance running.

It was hard for me to motivate myself to literally get out of bed this morning as it was 12 degrees outside. Every morning I always know how blisteringly cold it is because I take out my dog first thing when I wake up. Often I try to convince myself that going outside again would be certain death and I must protect myself by staying on the couch and watching “The View” I realize this is my general winter procrastination. I am from Arizona and even though I have lived in a cold weather climate for almost nine years I often decide to hibernate when the weather gets cold.

When bears hibernate they often eat themselves chunky then go down for a winter-long nap. When Tiffany hibernates she does so with a bottle of wine and a bag of peanut M&Ms.

This not the best running food I understand. I am working very hard in the next few months to pay better attention to what I eat. My goals are to eat breakfast, cut down on the sugar, cut down on the useless carbs and eat more veggies.

When I trained for my half marathon I thought running meant that I could eat whatever I wanted to. This isn’t the case. I think this is why some runners end up gaining weight when training for a race. I can’t bear to think that after running crazy training runs I won’t at least look better in my bathing suit on the beach this winter.

In the winter I, like a lot of people, I tend to overeat partly because I get cold and moody. The weird thing about that is by overeating I don’t really fuel my body correctly for running and I feel even more moody.

So I’m going to try to fuel my body for good, not evil. I would rather my agent tell me that I’m looking thinner than “wow, you are getting a runner’s butt.”

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

NYRR Is Running My Prozac?

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sasha  |  February 5, 2009 at 6:04 pm

    I know, I lost absolutely NO WEIGHT training for the stupid half-marathon. Sigh. But I did tone up a lot, so that’s something. Muscle weighs more than fat, right? I’m so proud of you for getting out of bed and facing the gym despite the cold!

    Reply
  • 2. sam  |  March 15, 2010 at 7:58 pm

    fantastic , you can go in a weather like that im really impressed
    really you are good

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tiffy’s Twitter

  • If you want to lose weight you gotta try this Try it free for the rest of October. pinterest.com/pin/3560665327… 4 years ago
  • Twitter friends I now at Tweeting at @YourWineography , follow to learn a bit more about wine and food! Still running though :) 6 years ago
  • Hmmm....when does my wedding "diet" begin... hopefully this time when I train for the marathon I can manage not to eat my face off 7 years ago
  • So far 2010 is pretty awesome. Not only am I running 2010 NYC Marathon but I'M ENGAGED!!!!!! 7 years ago
  • Hey twitterland! I'm back to running (after a bit of an extended break!) RunTiffyRun is back, now in training for More Half-Marathon! 7 years ago
February 2009
M T W T F S S
    Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

