I’m Running for My Life.

February 4, 2009 at 8:17 pm 4 comments

tiffyrun21

That sounds so serious. To be perfectly honest I am running because this has been a goal of mine for a long time. The idea of running a marathon came to me while volunteering at the 2003 Chicago Marathon. I was at the finish line, getting hammered on the free Goose Island Beer and manning the “CONGRATS!” microphone telling jokes and doing little dances for the runners. This was a volunteer project that raised money for a production of “Evita” that Northwestern was doing. I decided that morning I would run a marathon one day though I really had no plan in my drunken dancing state how that would ever happen.

I am one of those people who always secretly wanted to run. As I would walk my dog in Central Park I would be in awe of those long-limbed runners looking so content in their tight pants and running gear. They seemed so hard-core to me. Sometimes I would be inspired, try to run and fail miserably.

Case in point. My boyfriend, who I love dearly decided that he would support my running by having us run together. This man, mind you is 6 feet tall and somehow has never gotten out of shape since playing high school football. He is one of those boys that can take serious time off from working out and jump back into a full run no problem.

We started out fine. I felt that “I’m going to die, oh my god I must be having a heart attack” feeling that often plagued my runs but I kept going. Hitting the reservior I somehow caught up to him right as he was stepping sideways. I flew over his leg and landed face first onto the running track which ended my running career for about two years.

It wasn’t his fault, though I did blame him often post-run for my lack of running. I always said I couldn’t run which is silly because it is the most natural thing the body can do. I just needed to start slowly and stick with it.

Well I have now been running for 3 months. In that time I have run a half marathon, three NYRR races and I just signed up for the Chicago Marathon. I am not fast nor do I really care to be. I am running to prove to myself that I can do something that I had never believed I could.

It sounds super cheesy but I thought I would keep a record of the time leading up to the big race. Here we go.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

NYRR

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sasha  |  February 4, 2009 at 9:24 pm

    Go Tiffy!!!! I am so proud of you and will support you ALL THE WAY! I will, however, definitely not be running it with you, lol.

    LOVE YOU!

    Reply
  • 2. Jesse Jstreet  |  February 4, 2009 at 9:32 pm

    I ran my first marathon in Chicago last year and fell in love with it. I’m running two, including Chicago again, this year.

    Looking forward to reading about your progress. Good luck!

    Reply
  • 3. hospitalcio  |  February 5, 2009 at 8:07 am

    Running the Chicago Marathon is the one thing that I do for myself each year. Make sure you put your name on your shirt. Hundreds of people will call out to you by name to urge you on. You will love it.

    Reply
  • 4. MAIDIE  |  February 7, 2009 at 4:09 pm

    I AM SOOOOOO PROUD OF YOU!! YOU ARE MY INSPIRATION FOR RUNNING. YES, PROBABLY WILL BE IN A FUR COAT WITH A GREAT BIG SIGN, “RUN TIFFY RUN” I’LL GET KEVIN TO JOIN IN THE CHEERING SECTION OR MAYBE HE WILL BE RUNNING TOO.

    OXOX

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tiffy’s Twitter

  • If you want to lose weight you gotta try this Try it free for the rest of October. pinterest.com/pin/3560665327… 3 years ago
  • Twitter friends I now at Tweeting at @YourWineography , follow to learn a bit more about wine and food! Still running though :) 6 years ago
  • Hmmm....when does my wedding "diet" begin... hopefully this time when I train for the marathon I can manage not to eat my face off 7 years ago
  • So far 2010 is pretty awesome. Not only am I running 2010 NYC Marathon but I'M ENGAGED!!!!!! 7 years ago
  • Hey twitterland! I'm back to running (after a bit of an extended break!) RunTiffyRun is back, now in training for More Half-Marathon! 7 years ago
February 2009
M T W T F S S
    Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

